Multi-dimensional

20140315-010419.jpg

This year has been nothing but good to me so far. I’ve been so positive about 2014 weeks before new year firecrackers started filling the skies and that mindset has been leading me to nothing but greener pastures. I guess this time alone does suit me.

Day by day I get to know myself better. It’s as if I keep on peeling another layer of myself along with the new experiences and challenges I take. There are days too, I get reacquainted with the glimpses of my past self. Take this art for example. I can’t actually brag much about it cos I know it’s nothing but plaintiff compared to other people’s but, I am very much proud of it. It’s my first watercolor work in a very long time. And when I say long, I’m guessing around roughly more than a decade has passed since the last time.

Growing up, my brother (for we didn’t have our youngest brother until we were in our tweens) and I were very much exposed to art. My mother, being creative as she is, was very much supportive of that. I have memories of my brother and I having this “art time” at home and we’d trace our story books, paint with watercolors, draw with our crayons and colored pens. It was one of the things we got so engrossed in as toddlers. I can even remember the first time I was able to watch the Disney show Art Attack. Boy, did My eyes grew big that time. I swear, the watercolor art he did back then was something I tried in my projects over and over and over when I was already in highschool. From Disney characters, to doodles, to made-up characters to anime and comics, I can say my brother and I pretty much drew everything. He focused more on sketching and I got more and more involved with coloring.

As time – or highschool, rather has passed, the only creativity I got to focus on was my wardrobe. During my freshman year in the University, I can’t literally sleep without having a clear picture of what I’d wear the following day. And this isn’t even an overstatement. Lucky me, I was only required to wear my uniform during laboratory hours on major subjects. But when MedSchool came, little by little these simple joys got sucked out of me, as if all the things I used to enjoy doing got tucked away in an old box in an old attic somewhere. When I said a few years back that MedSchool has changed my life, I wasn’t kidding. It did impacted me most out of everything I’ve ever experienced in a quarter of a century.

So anyway… I’m really happy that I get to be blessed with this time off – not only in Med but also on the dating field. These past few months, I’ve been very lucky to be able to know myself even more; develop new hobbies; hone my existing skills; and learn so much about myself and the society I’m at. Most days life gets too fast-paced that we get so engrossed in it and forget who we really are. We fail to see other aspects for we get too focused on just getting things done instead of living in the moment. I am not trying to be too philosophical here for I know these things I’m currently saying are too cliché already, but it is what it is. I’m just thankful that there’s a whole lot of beauty that came out of all the hardships, pain and heartbreaks I had the previous year. Today, I was reminded that whatever it is that we are facing, one does not have to merely cave in and forget his/her true nature. Life is meant to be lived. As simple as that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

