January: So Far

It’s almost 4 in the morning and I have been up since 1. At this cold weather, I woke up in sweat and just couldn’t sleep back. So, as I sniff my way through this post (and not to mention, the days to come), here are a couple of updates (and no, this still does not include promised posts from the last holiday season):

MABUHAY, POPE FRANCIS!
Classes and offices  have been suspended since Thursday of this week because the current head of the Catholic Church came for a visit. For a country who’s population are mostly Christians, it is indeed a pretty great deal. I’ve known for months that the Pope is indeed coming but I couldn’t care less. You see, I’m not a very pious person and I’m not very familiar with him. But then weeks prior to his visit, a documentation at History Channel featured his life and ideals – now, that indeed got me interested. He is one person who has broken the odds. He is no conformist and stands by what he believes is right. Now, that there is a mark of a true leader. Well anyway, that still didn’t spark my interest enough to make me go out of my way and try to see him. Some friends were already fussing about getting tickets and planning where to wait for him but I didn’t even try to entertain the idea of actually trying to brave the streets of Manila just to see him. And of course, I fully regretted this decision when I saw him on live television.
While flipping through channels, I happen to pass by the live telecast and maaaaaan, after a few minutes, I noticed myself on full smile and on the verge of tears. And I was like, ‘WTH. He has done nothing so far but smile, throw jokes at the guards and wave en route Villamor Airbase’ Haha. But, yeah, he had that effect and it was surreal, to think I was just looking through my tube box. Well, from that minute on, I promised myself to try to see him in Rome at least once in my lifetime. He just has this calm, warm and open personality which really draws me in. And, his love for children and intelligent opinion on sensitive issues of course, really meant a whole lot to me. It’s as if he is changing the face of Catholicism. He is not (or does not allow himself to be) strictly boxed by traditional beliefs of the church. He is open to the fact that one does not only need the teachings of the Catholic Church, but can also get from, or learn from the teachings of other religions. He never said or implied that Catholic is the only religion. He believes in one God but not in one, perfect religion. And lastly, when I read about what he said during his flight to Sri Lanka about freedom of speech, it got me sold and blew me away. As what I have always firmly believed in – as with all things, freedom of speech too, is bounded by limits. One is held responsible for the words he/she is throwing out to the world. Because really, not just because you have the freedom, you are free to do whatever you want with it and try to hurt other people. It’s not conformism or being bounded by social stigma, but it’s humanity, people. So anyway, if someone as great as this Pope leads the whole church, then, maybe, having the birthright to Catholicism isn’t so bad after all.

Blast from the Past: Celebrate Life. Celebrate You.

edited welcome tarp

Background grabbed here.

Just a few hours ago, my classmates and I got a chance to conduct a seminar and hold a mini-party for cancer patients at UPHSD-Jonelta hospital. Yes, the preparations were tedious and yes, I was very very stressed out prior to the activity (such is the life of a nitty-gritty OC lady), but it all turned out great. Yes, I repeat, the activity was so successful that it had me all smiles the whole day. It was all worth it – the planning, layouts and of course execution. I’m just so proud we were all able to pull this one off. And maaaaaan, the smiles and laughter from all the survivors a while ago were priceless. It was indeed worth it. Laughter resonated the place throughout the whole activity and everyone enjoyed and had an awesome time. I feel so blessed to have been part of this great cause. I’m also blessed to have professors who believe that being a doctor isn’t solely about the technical part but is mostly about the heart. Heart is the heart of this profession. Hihi #word 😀 Anyway, I’m so thankful and blessed and happy and inspired. ♥

P.S. Event pics to follow soon. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

